We interrupt our regularly scheduled program…

I have two more posts in progress (with pictures!) about my recent trip to Ukraine. But today I was browsing the radio archives of one of my favorite shows This American Life. Due to work and travel, I haven’t been able to listen regularly, so I was pretty excited to catch up.  The 13 July episode “Hiding in Plain Sight” is particularly good, especially Act One “There’s Something About Mary,” which is a dialogue with a pilates teacher who was born with only one arm and how she conceals and doesn’t conceal her disability.  The act is intriguing and shocking, but what I like best about it is how it highlights just how very complicated navigating the “normal” world with a visible disability can actually be. Listen up! Enjoy! Oh yeah and also, please support public broadcasting.

Leave a Reply

