Self-portraits as Soviet, with Aid.

Last week I went to a huge exhibit of the work of Dmitry Bal’termats, a prominent Soviet photojournalist who got his start as a war photographer, and then became famous his magazine covers during the Thaw. This little jaunt was research related, so I took a lot of pictures of pictures. Bad lighting and reflections on glass interfered with a few of them, spoiling the original images, but also producing a weird superimposition. Superimpositions that featured prominently, despite efforts to minimize its presence (This is what I mean by its getting in the way.), the Evil Aid. It is still hard for me to look at myself, with aid, in a full length mirror. I thought I’d post a few of these as a first step toward over that little hump.  Identity matters…

Leave a Reply

